Jump to content

Medusa

Fast charging station and and suitable infrastructure for heavy vehicles and buses

The decarbonisation of transport is an essential building block for achieving climate goals. For the complete electrification of heavy-duty vehicles and buses, innovative approaches and an intelligent high-performance charging infrastructure are still needed.

The MEDUSA (multi-megawatt medium-voltage fast charging) initiative is divided into two sub-projects. In the first project phase (05/2021 to 10/2022), the requirements definitions, the topological implementation as well as the design and comparison of several solutions and a concept demonstration will be prepared. The second project phase will focus on the construction of a large-scale demonstrator as well as analyses of geographical conditions and traffic flows coupled with network simulation. The construction of the demonstrator is based on the results from Phase 1.

"Fast charging a truck requires the power of 3 megawatts. Providing this high power is a major challenge for the distribution grid. Therefore, in the project, we are working with selected partners who have the technological know-how to develop a multi-megawatt fast charging station with direct medium-voltage grid connection as well as grid-stabilizing properties. In the future, these charging columns should enable both rapid charging of 3 megawatts or multiple charges of 150 kilowatts, which corresponds to the demand of around 20 passenger cars," explains Markus Makoschitz, project manager and senior scientist at the AIT Center for Energy. Furthermore, CO2 emissions are to be reduced by connecting battery storage systems in combination with solar power technology.

Project Partner

AVL List GmbH, EnerCharge GmbH, Infineon Technologies Austria AG, Xelectrix Power GmbH

Funding line

The MEDUSA project is funded under the Zero Emission Mobility, a research and demonstration program of the Climate and Energy Fund in the field of sustainable mobility and energy supply.

https://www.klimafonds.gv.at/call/zero-emission-mobility-2021/

Direkt zum Inhalt

Medusa

Schnellladestation und entsprechende Infrastruktur für Schwerfahrzeuge und Busse

Die Dekarbonisierung des Verkehrs ist ein wesentlicher Baustein für das Erreichen der Klimaziele. Für die vollständige Elektrifizierung von Schwerfahrzeugen und Bussen bedarf es noch innovativer Ansätze und einer intelligenten Hochleistungsladeinfrastruktur.

Die MEDUSA-Initiative (Multi-Megawatt Medium-voltage fast Charging) gliedert sich in zwei Teilprojekte. In der ersten Projektphase (05/2021 bis 10/2022) werden die Anforderungs-definitionen, die topologische Umsetzung sowie der Entwurf und Vergleich mehrerer Lösungen sowie eine Konzeptdemonstration erstellt. In der zweiten Projektphase stehen der Bau eines groß angelegten Demonstrators sowie Analysen der geografischen Gegebenheiten und der Verkehrsströme gekoppelt mit Netzsimulation im Fokus. Der Bau des Demonstrators basiert auf den Ergebnissen aus Phase 1.

„Für die Schnellladung eines LKWs wird die Leistung von 3 Megawatt benötigt. Die Bereitstellung dieser hohen Leistung ist für das Verteilnetz eine große Herausforderung. Daher arbeiten wir im Projekt mit ausgewählten Partnern zusammen, die über das technologische Know-how für die Entwicklung einer Multi-Megawatt-Schnellladestation mit direkter Mittelspannungsnetzanbindung sowie netzstabilisierenden Eigenschaften verfügen. Diese Ladesäulen sollen zukünftig sowohl eine Schnellladung von 3 Megawatt oder mehrere Ladungen von 150 Kilowatt, das entspricht dem Bedarf rund 20 PKWs, ermöglichen“, erklärt Markus Makoschitz, Projektleiter und Senior Scientist am AIT Center for Energy. Weiters sollen durch  die Anbindung von Batteriespeichersystemen im Verbund mit Solarstromtechnologie CO2-Emissionen reduziert werden.

Projektpartner

AVL List GmbH, EnerCharge GmbH, Infineon Technologies Austria AG, Xelectrix Power GmbH

Förderscheine

Das Projekt MEDUSA wird im Rahmen der Zero Emission Mobility finanziert, ein Forschungs- und Demonstrationsprogramm des Klima- und Energiefonds im Bereich der nachhaltigen Mobilität und Energieversorgung.

https://www.klimafonds.gv.at/call/zero-emission-mobility-2021/