Jump to content

Autonomous Ticketing

Autonomous Ticketing

Enable your mobile app for next generation ticketing

stylised person with an app and a stylised train; a skyline can be seen in the background

Next generation ticketing does not need any additional infrastructure or active user interaction. It is based on smartphones and requires reliable capture of mobility data. With AIT´s software solution MODE, data such as used means of transport, transfer points and routes can be gathered automatically and precisely in the background.

Autonomous ticketing via smartphone is hands-free (no user interaction necessary), reliable (reliable algorithms based on more than 15 years of experience), easy to integrate (no additional infrastructure required), its data (detailed and reliable travel information for innovative applications and statistics) and flexible (different application options: BiBo, CiBo etc.)

 

MODE - the software Solution for capturing different modes of transport

People sitting around a table and discussing a city map

MODE is based on many years of R&D work

Besides GPS and other localizing functions, smartphones provide sensor-based acceleration data for determining the means of transport. Combined with GIS data, time schedule and real-time information of the public transport system, MODE thus enables an autonomous ticketing solution without additional infrastructure or user interaction.

 Passengers and trams on a road

Eight different means of transport

MODE distinguishes between eight different means of transport: bicycle, motorcycle, car, bus, tram, subway, railway and walking. The smartphone-based data is transmitted to a server where the MODE algorithm creates a reliable and detailed trip information.

Mobile Ticket App is used by a person

MODE can easily be integrated

The MODE software components (client and backend) can easily be integrated into various existing ticketing applications and platforms, considering specific customer requirements and interfaces. It forms the ideal basis for autonomous ticketing solutions for public transport operators and mobility providers.

Woman telephoning at an underground station while the underground is arriving

The Benefits

  • No user-interaction necessary
  • No additional infrastructure required (e.g. Bluetooth beacons)
  • Automatic differentiation between eight means of transport
  • Detailed, reliable trip information
  • Simple integration into existing ticketing applications
  • Battery-saving operation (no continuous GPS required)

MODE References

Carinthia and Styria, Austria

Project “Smart Journey”, carried out in collaboration with the Austrian Federal Railways (ÖBB), the Austrian Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology (bmvit) and the transport associations Carinthia and Styria, with the aim of evaluating smartphone-based travel surveys for an autonomous ticketing and a respective revenue sharing system.

Vienna, Austria

Capturing the mobility behaviour of users of the Wien-Mobil-Routing app in collaboration with the public transport operator Wiener Linien.

Tbilisi, Georgia

Survey of the multimodal mobility behaviour in the city of Tbilisi/Georgia, organized within the framework of the Future Cities Programme of the Asian Development Bank (ADB).

 

Top Rated at SHL Challenge

At the Sussex-Huawei Locomotion Transportation Recognition Challenge 2018 in Singapore, AIT’s solution was second to none in detecting changes between means of transport and achieved the excellent fourth place overall. In addition, the AIT model requires the shortest training time and by far the least storage space. This allows mobile implementations and provides an optimal basis for autonomous ticketing solutions.

TV feature on "Autonomous Ticketing" in P.M. Wissen/Servus TV (in German)

Markus Ray

Direkt zum Inhalt
AIT Logo

Autonomous Ticketing

Autonomous Ticketing

Ticketing der nächsten Generation für Ihre mobile App

Image pic

Ticketing der nächsten Generation braucht keine betreiberseitige Infrastruktur oder aktive NutzerInnen-Interaktion. Es ist Smartphone-basiert und funktioniert über die zuverlässige Erhebung von Mobilitätsdaten. Mit MODE, der Software-Lösung von AIT, können Daten wie benutzte Verkehrsmittel, Umsteigepunkte und Fahrtrouten automatisch und präzise im Hintergrund erfasst werden.

Erklärbild

 

MODE – die Software-Lösung zur Erhebung verschiedener Transportmodi

scientists

MODE BASIERT AUF VIELEN JAHREN FORSCHUNG UND ENTWICKLUNG

Neben GPS und anderen Ortungsfunktionen liefern Smartphones sensorbasierte Beschleunigungsdaten und können so unterschiedliche Verkehrsmittel erkennen. Zusammen mit GIS-Daten, Fahrplänen und Echtzeitinformationen über die öffentlichen Verkehrssysteme macht MODE damit eine autonome Ticketing-Lösung möglich, ohne dass es eine zusätzliche Infrastruktur oder NutzerInnen-Interaktion braucht.

multimodality

ACHT VERSCHIEDENE TRANSPORTMITTEL

MODE unterscheidet zwischen acht verschiedenen Transportmitteln: Fahrrad, Motorrad, Auto, Bus, Straßenbahn, U-Bahn, Eisenbahn und zu Fuß gehen. Die Smartphone-basierten Daten werden an einen Server übertragen, wo der MODE-Algorithmus eine zuverlässige und detaillierte Reiseinformation generiert.

Mobile Ticket

MODE LÄSST SICH EINFACH INTEGRIEREN

Die Software-Komponenten von MODE (Client und Backend) lassen sich leicht in unterschiedliche bestehende Ticketing-Anwendungen und -Plattformen integrieren und berücksichtigen dabei spezifische Kundenanforderungen und Schnittstellen. Damit ist MODE die ideale Basis für autonome Ticketing-Lösungen für Betreiber öffentlicher Verkehrssysteme und Mobilitätsanbieter.

woman on platform

Die Vorteile auf einen Blick:

  • Keine NutzerInnen-Interaktion notwendig
  • Keine zusätzliche Infrastruktur erforderlich (zum Beispiel Bluetooth Beacons)
  • Automatische Unterscheidung zwischen acht Transportmitteln
  • Detaillierte, zuverlässige Reiseinformationen
  • Einfache Integration in bestehende Ticketing-Anwendungen
  • Batteriesparbetrieb (kein kontinuierliches GPS erforderlich)

    MODE-Referenzen

    Kärnten und Steiermark, Österreich:

    Projekt „Smart Journey“, durchgeführt in Zusammenarbeit mit den Österreichischen Bundesbahnen ÖBB, dem österreichischen Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie (bmvit) und den Verkehrsverbünden Kärnten und Steiermark. Das Ziel: Die Evaluierung von Smartphone-basierten Reiseerhebungen für ein autonomes Ticketing-System und einem entsprechenden Einnahmenverteilungs-System.

    Wien, Österreich:

    Erhebung des Mobilitätsverhaltens von NutzerInnen der Wien-Mobil-Routing-App in Zusammenarbeit mit dem öffentlichen Verkehrsbetrieb Wiener Linien.

    Tiflis, Georgien:

    Erhebung des multimodalen Mobilitätsverhaltens in der Stadt Tiflis/Georgien, organisiert im Rahmen des „Future Cities“-Programms der Asian Development Bank (ADB).

    Smartphone-Sensordaten

    Spitzenergebnis bei der SHL Challenge

    Bei der Sussex-Huawei Locomotion Transportation Recognition Challenge 2018 in Singapur erreichte die Lösung des AIT den absoluten Spitzenplatz bei der Erkennung vom Umstieg von einem Transportmittel auf ein anderes und insgesamt einen hervorragenden vierten Platz. Zusätzlich erfordert das AIT-Modell nur die kürzeste Schulungszeit und bei weitem den wenigsten Speicherplatz. Das macht den mobilen Einsatz möglich und bietet eine optimale Grundlage für autonome Ticketing-Lösungen.