Jump to content
AIT Logo

Road Condition Monitoring

ROADSTAR

Evaluation of road conditions using a high-performance mobile laboratory

The ROADSTAR high-performance measurement vehicle is equipped with state-of-the-art sensors, satellite navigation and camera technology. It captures the most important road surface properties and layout parameters with the highest quality and accuracy – for better road safety and effective traffic infrastructure maintenance.

 

ROADSTAR: YOUR BENEFITS

    • Collection of all data in a single measurement run
    • No lane closing required, traffic flow remains unimpeded
    • State-of-the-art data acquisition with highest accuracy and reproducibility
    • Seamless digital representation of the road space through the camera system
    • The Applanix positioning system provides the highest accuracy for capturing road geometry and locating roadside objects

    ROADSTAR, APPLIED

    • Passenger car-relevant skid resistance measurements using the SRM (Stuttgarter Reibungsmesser) system for different braking conditions
    • 3D stereoscopic measurement of objects in road space
    • Capture of rut data over a lane width of 4 m
    • Detection of surface damage and cracks down to 1 mm of width

    ROADSTAR has collected road data for ASFINAG and the Austrian federal states for over 20 years.

    ROADSTAR 3D Inofografic

     

     

    highway

    ROADSTAR CAPTURES NUMEROUS PARAMETERS IN ONE HIGH-PRECISION MEASUREMENT RUN

    With a standard measuring speed of 60 km/h and without interfering with traffic, the ROADSTAR measures and locates all displayed road surface properties and roadside objects in a single pass using digital line scan and area scan cameras, laser scanners, and a high-precision, satellite-supported positioning system.

    Laser measurement

    ROADSTAR CAN BE UTILISED IN A WIDE VARIETY OF WAYS

    While ROADSTAR allows the monitoring of conditions across entire road networks, very specific and detailed measurements are equally possible. For that reason, ROADSTAR is used by infrastructure operators, public authorities, and automobile manufacturers & suppliers alike – providing support for maintenance management as well as traffic safety.

    Roadstar

    ROADSTAR CAPTURES HIGH-QUALITY DATA

    The road infrastructure data collected by ROADSTAR is unmatched in Europe in terms of quality, resolution and coverage. It enables comprehensive analyses, such as investigations of the relationship between road conditions and accidents. The skid resistance measurement method used is one of the world’s best and sets ROADSTAR apart from other measurement systems.

    ISO 17025T certificate

    Road maintenance requires effort and entails high costs. The limited financial resources available must therefore be used efficiently. Monitoring the road condition with the ROADSTAR provides you with the basis for making accurate and economical maintenance planning decisions.

     

    DETAILED INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR ROADS, FOR BETTER SAFETY

     

    Thanks to the objective, high-precision measurement data it collects, ROADSTAR makes an essential contribution to road safety. It determines the relevant road characteristics such as skid resistance and ruts and allows detailed accident analyses as well as planning rehabilitation measures for accident sites.

     

    The AIT is a testing laboratory accredited by “Akkreditierung Austria” for testing road surface key parameters.

     

    Research Field

    Contact request

Direkt zum Inhalt

Road Condition Monitoring

ROADSTAR

Erhebung von Straßeninfrastrukturdaten mit einem mobilen Hochleistungslabor

Das Hochleistungsmessfahrzeug ROADSTAR ist mit modernster Sensorik, Satellitennavigation und Kameratechnik ausgestattet. Es erfasst mit höchster Qualität und Genauigkeit die wichtigsten Oberflächeneigenschaften und Trassierungsparameter der Straßen für eine höhere Verkehrssicherheit und effektive Erhaltung der Verkehrsinfrastruktur.

 

ROADSTAR – IHRE VORTEILE

  • Erhebung aller Daten in einer einzigen Messfahrt 

  • Keine Absicherungen oder Fahrstreifensperren 
notwendig, keine  Beeinträchtigung des Verkehrsflusses 

  • Erfassung der Daten nach dem neuesten Stand der 
Technik mit höchster Genauigkeit und Wiederholbarkeit
  • Lückenlose digitale Abbildung des Straßenraums 
durch das Kamerasystem 

  • Höchste Präzision bei der Erfassung der Straßengeometrie und Verortung von Objekten des Straßenraums durch das Applanix-Positionierungssystem 


ROADSTAR ANGEWANDT

  • Pkw-nahe Griffigkeitsmessungen bei unterschiedlichen Bremszuständen mit dem Stuttgarter Reibungsmesser
  • 3D-Stereobildvermessung von Objekten im Straßenraum
  • Erfassung von Spurrinnendaten über eine Fahrstreifenbreite von vier Metern
  • Erkennung von Oberflächenschäden und Rissen 
ab einem Millimeter Breite 


Netzweit ist der ROADSTAR für ASFINAG und Bundesländer seit über 20 Jahren unterwegs. 


RoadSTAR 3D-Grafik

 

 

Autobahn

IN NUR EINER MESSFAHRT ERFASST DER ROADSTAR HOCHPRÄZISE ZAHLREICHE PARAMETER

Mit einer Standardmessgeschwindigkeit von 60 km/h und ohne den Verkehr zu beeinträchtigen, misst und verortet der ROADSTAR in einer einzigen Überfahrt alle dargestellten Eigenschaften und Objekte des Straßenraums. Dabei kommen digitale Zeilen- und Flächenkameras, Laserscanner sowie?ein hochgenaues satellitengestütztes Positionierungssystem zum Einsatz.

Lasermessung

DER ROADSTAR WIRD AUF VIELFÄLTIGE ART EINGESETZT

Einerseits ermöglicht der ROADSTAR die netzweite Zustandserfassung von ganzen Straßennetzen. Andererseits sind sehr spezifische und detaillierte Messungen möglich. So ist der ROADSTAR für Infrastrukturbetreiber, Behörden, aber auch Automobilhersteller und Zulieferbetriebe im Einsatz – im Dienste des Erhaltungsmanagements, aber auch der Verkehrssicherheit.

Roadstar

MIT DEM ROADSTAR ERMITTELN WIR QUALITATIV HOCHWERTIGE DATEN

Die Straßeninfrastrukturdaten, die der ROADSTAR erhebt, sind in Qualität, Auflösung und Flächendeckung europaweit einzigartig. Sie ermöglichen umfassende Analysen, wie etwa Untersuchungen zum Zusammenhang zwischen Straßenzustand und Unfallgeschehen. Das eingesetzte Griffigkeitsmessverfahren unterscheidet den ROADSTAR von anderen Messfahrzeugen und gehört zu den weltbesten.

Prüfzeichen

Die Instandhaltung von Straßen erfordert Aufwand und verursacht hohe Kosten. Die nur begrenzt zur Verfügung stehenden finanziellen Mittel müssen dementsprechend effizient eingesetzt werden. Die Erfassung des Straßenzustandes mit dem ROADSTAR liefert Ihnen Entscheidungsgrundlagen für eine gezielte und ökonomische Erhaltungsplanung.

DETAILLIERTES WISSEN ÜBER IHRE STRASSEN

Dank der objektiven, hochpräzisen Messdaten, die er erhebt, leistet der ROADSTAR einen essenziellen Beitrag zur Verkehrssicherheit. Er ermittelt dafür relevante Fahrbahneigenschaften wie Griffigkeit und Spurrinnen und ermöglicht in weiterer Folge detaillierte Unfallanalysen sowie die Planung von Sanierungsmaßnahmen für Unfallstellen.

Für die Prüfung von Schlüsselparametern der Fahrbahnoberfläche sind wir eine durch die „Akkreditierung Austria“ akkreditierte Prüfstelle.

Kontaktanfrage

Mit * markierte Felder sind Pflichtfelder.