Jump to content

Improved Plant Systems

Plants frequently encounter adverse growth conditions. Drought, extreme temperatures, high salt concentrations, heavy metal contamination of soils, and pathogen pressure are examples of environmental constraints that can adversely affect agronomic traits, grain yield and/or grain quality.


Our research focuses on how signal transduction regulates the coordinated response of metabolism and chromatin function (gene expression), which ultimately determines whether a plant is able to acclimate to fluctuating and/or adverse conditions. We apply a combination of genetic, biochemical and physiological approaches to understand the molecular mechanisms underlying stress tolerance, and explore the potential of such approaches for innovative crop improvement strategies.



  • Assessment of plant vigor under various environmental conditions
  • Mode of action analyses
  • Cellular redox status analyses
  • Evaluation of metabolic enzyme activities


  • High throughput DNA extraction using liquid handling systems (ISO 9001:2008)
  • Development and application of tailor-made DNA extraction protocols for diverse tissues and organisms
  • Centralized facility (DNA bank) for long-term storage and management of biological material
  • Profound expertise in laboratory information management systems (MAPSTM) and database integration

// Genotyping-Dienstleistungen

  • Development of genetic marker systems by using state-of-the-art molecular technologies for individual research questions in the fields of genomics and  transcriptomics
  • Marker applications for various genotyping purposes and DNA fragment analysis based on several technologies::// KASP ™ // qPCR // Genotypisierung durch Sequenzierung (z. B. RADseq) // Mikrosatelliten (STRs / SSRs)
  • Bioinformatics analysis and data interpretation (genetic diversity, genotype-phenotype-environment associations)


Mit * markierte Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Direkt zum Inhalt
AIT Logo

Improved Plant Systems

Pflanzen leiden häufig unter ungünstige Wachstumsbedingungen. Dürre, extreme Temperaturen, hohe Salzkonzentrationen, Schwermetallkontamination von Böden und Erregerdruck sind Beispiele für umweltbedingten Stress, der sich nachteilig auf das Wachstum, den Ertrag oder die Qualität auswirkt. Wir arbeiten daran Nutzpflanzen resilienter gegen diesen Stress zu machen und so Ernteerträge und Qualität des Korns nachhaltig zu verbessern.

 

Unsere Forschung konzentriert sich auf die Signaltransduktion und die koordinierte Reaktion des Metabolismus und Chromatin-Funktion (Genexpression), diese entscheiden letztlich ob sich eine Pflanze an widrige Umstände anpassen kann. Wir nutzen eine Kombination aus genetischen, biochemischen und physiologischen Ansätze um die molekularen Mechanismen der der Pflanzen bei Stress zu erstehen und ihre Stressresistenz zu verbessern.

WIR BIETEN

  • Beurteilung der Pflanzenvitalität unter verschiedenen Umweltbedingungen
  • Wirkungsweiseanalysen
  • Zelluläre Redox-Statusanalysen
  • Bewertung der metabolischen Enzymaktivitäten

// DNA BANK SERVICES

  • Hochdurchsatz-DNA-Extraktion mit Liquid Handling Systeme (ISO 9001: 2008)
  • Entwicklung und Anwendung von maßgeschneiderter DNA-Extraktion Protokolle für verschiedene Gewebe und Organismen
  • Zentralisierte Einrichtung (DNA-Bank) für Langzeitlagerung und Management von biologischem Material
  • Fundierte Kenntnisse im Laborinformationsmanagement Systeme (MAPSTM) und Datenbankintegration

// Genotyping-Dienstleistungen

  • Entwicklung von genetischen Markersystemen unter Verwendung von modernste molekulare Technologien für den Einzelnen Forschungsfragen in den Bereichen Genomik und Transkriptomik
  • Marker-Anwendungen für verschiedene Genotypisierungszwecke und DNA Fragmentanalyse basierend auf verschiedenen Technologien:// KASP ™ // qPCR // Genotypisierung durch Sequenzierung (z. B. RADseq) // Mikrosatelliten (STRs / SSRs)
  • Bioinformatikanalyse und Dateninterpretation (genetische Diversität, Genotyp-Phänotyp-Umwelt-Assoziationen)

 

 

Themenbild Labor

Kontaktanfrage

Mit * markierte Felder sind Pflichtfelder.