Jump to content

Impact Assessment for Transformative Mobility Systems

Impact assessment of interventions 
and new technologies in mobility systems

Impact

Re-designing mobility systems more efficiently

Are you planning measures on the supply side? Are you expecting changes in demand? IMPACT analyses the impact of various measures in the transport sector so that they can be leveraged effectively by transport associations, infrastructure providers or planners. In this way, IMPACT makes an essential contribution to shaping the overall transport system of the future.

The benefits of IMPACT

  • Reliable information on mobility interventions and their deciding impact 

  • Unique focus on the analysis of transport-related human behaviour 

  • Ideal cost-benefit ratio 

  • Impact assessment of new technologies for types 
of mobility 

  • Always at the cutting edge of technological progress

IMPACT, applied

  • Analyses on the impact of innovative public transport systems in rural areas
  • Assessment of modal shift potentials 

  • Investigations on the impact of autonomous vehicles 
on the transport system 

  • Effects of changes in the supply or demand sides 
of transport

Tools used by IMPACT

The AIT uses its own modelling elements such as a personalized trip-based survey tool and specific choice models, combining them with state-of-the-art tools such as mesoscopic, agent-based transport modelling tools (e.g. MATSim) and microscopic transport simulations.

How it works:

 

 

[Translate to English:] Team am Schreibtisch

Group-specific surveys

Working with market researchers, we investigate the impact of planned traffic measures on the behaviour of people from affected target groups. We then analyse the results in relation to the social milieus and derive clusters in terms of behavioural and change processes.

Modelling mobility scenarios

The IMPACT assessment considers the factors that lead to changes in the transport system. Examples include pricing structures, parking management, new public transport lines, road construction, and new technologies such as autonomous vehicles. We implement the mobility measures and the findings of the surveys in simulation environments and models and develop scenarios from them.

Improved decision making

The final impact assessment of the scenarios provides a sound basis for the selection of suitable interventions and approaches to optimise and increase transport efficiency. With IMPACT, we identify trends for future planning, achieve a high level of evidence and explanatory power of behavioural phenomena, gain knowledge about the cost-benefit ratio at an early stage and identify rebound and backfire effects.

“human-centered” – impact’s particular viewpoint

Every day, people use a wide range of different transport modes to get around different traffic routes. Each person decides individually, follows habits and experiences, and acts more emotionally than rationally in most situations. IMPACT distinguishes itself by its scientifically sound analysis of these individual processes and their integration into traffic models.

Comprehensive picture for transport models

In models and simulations, IMPACT not only considers the overall transport system but also human aspects. Potential factors such as environmental influences, new technologies, changes in the transport infrastructure or transport safety issues are also included in the assessment.

Contact Request

Required fields are marked with an *.

Direkt zum Inhalt
AIT Logo

Impact Assessment for Transformative Mobility Systems

Wirkungsanalysen von Maßnahmen und neuen Technologien in Mobilitätssystemen

Impact

Mobilitätssysteme effizienter neu gestalten

Sie planen Maßnahmen auf der Angebotsseite? Sie erwarten Änderungen auf der Nachfrageseite? IMPACT analysiert die Wirkung verschiedenster Maßnahmen im Verkehrsbereich, damit sie in weiterer Folge von Verkehrsverbünden, Infrastrukturbetreibern oder Planern effektiv eingesetzt werden können. Damit leistet IMPACT einen essentiellen Beitrag zur Gestaltung des Gesamtverkehrssystems der Zukunft.

Auswirkung Verkehrsverlagerung

Verkehrsverlagerung

Impact: Ihre Vorteile

  • Zuverlässige Informationen über Mobilitätsmaßnahmen und ihre entscheidende Einflussnahme 

  • Einzigartiger Fokus auf der Analyse des menschlichen Verkehrsverhaltens 

  • Optimales Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis 

  • Wirkungsanalysen von neuen Technologien 
und Wegen der Mobilität 

  • Immer am neuesten Stand des technologischen 
Fortschritts 


Impact: Angewandt

  • Untersuchungen zu Auswirkungen von Micro-ÖV-Systemen im ländlichen Raum 

  • Ermittlung von Verlagerungspotenzialen 
zwischen verschiedenen Verkehrsmodi 

  • Untersuchungen zum Einfluss von automatisierten 
Fahrzeugen auf das Verkehrssystem 

  • Effekte von Änderungen im Verkehrsangebot sowie in der Verkehrsnachfrage

DIE TOOLS VON IMPACT

Das AIT wendet eigene Modellelemente wie SP-off-RP-Umfragen und spezifische Choice Modelle an und kombiniert diese mit State-of-the-Art Tools wie mesoskopischen, agentenbasierten Verkehrsmodellierungstools (z.B. MATSim) und mikroskopischen Verkehrssimulationen.

How it works:

grafische Darstellung

 

 

Team am Schreibtisch

Gruppenspezifische Erhebungen

In Kooperation mit Marktforschern wird der Einfluss von geplanten Verkehrsmaßnahmen auf das Verhalten von Personen aus betroffenen Zielgruppen untersucht. Die Ergebnisse analysieren wir in Zusammenhang mit den sozialen Milieus und leiten in puncto Verhaltens- und Wechselprozesse Cluster ab.

Modellierung von Mobilitätsszenarien

Im Rahmen des IMPACT Assessments betrachten wir alle Faktoren, die eine Änderung im Verkehrssystem bewirken. Beispiele sind Tarifgestaltung, Parkraummanagement, neue ÖV-Linien, Straßenbau sowie neue Technologien wie autonomes Fahren. Die Mobilitätsmaßnahmen und die Erkenntnisse der Erhebungen implementieren wir in Simulationsumgebungen und -modelle und entwickeln daraus Szenarien.

Verbesserte Entscheidungsqualität

Die finale Wirkungsanalyse der Szenarien liefert eine fundierte Entscheidungsbasis für die Auswahl geeigneter Maßnahmen und Ansätze zur Optimierung und Effizienzsteigerung. Mit IMPACT erkennen wir Trends für zukünftige Planungen, erzielen eine hohe Evidenz und Erklärungskraft von Verhaltensphänomenen, gewinnen frühzeitig Erkenntnisse über den Kosten-Nutzen-Faktor und identifizieren Rebound- und Backfire-Effekte.

„Human centered“ – der spezielle Blickwinkel von Impact

Täglich bewegen sich Menschen mit den verschiedensten Verkehrsmitteln auf unterschiedlichen Verkehrswegen. Jeder entscheidet individuell, folgt Gewohnheiten und Erfahrungen, handelt in den meisten Situationen eher emotional als rational. Die wissenschaftlich fundierte Analyse dieser individuellen Prozesse und deren Integration in Verkehrsmodelle zeichnet IMPACT aus.

Umfassendes Bild für Verkehrsmodelle

IMPACT berücksichtigt in Modellierungen und Simulationen neben dem Gesamtverkehrssystem auch die menschlichen Aspekte. Potenzielle Faktoren wie Umwelteinflüsse, neue Technologien, Änderungen in der Verkehrsinfrastruktur oder Verkehrssicherheitsthemen gehen ebenso in die Analyse ein.

Kontaktanfrage

Mit * markierte Felder sind Pflichtfelder.