Jump to content
AIT Logo

Simulate

Simulation, analysis and optimisation of customer and pedestrian flows

Higher safety, comfort and efficiency for pedestrian flows

The analysis and optimisation of pedestrian flows in urban areas is a major challenge. Based on the latest research results and state-of-the-art technologies, the AIT offers tailor-made scalable solutions for simulation, analysis and planning.

SIMULATE: your benefits

  • Cutting costs by ensuring optimum mobility, efficiency, comfort, and safety
  • Best possible basis for decisions, preventing bad investments for existing and planned environments
  • Flexible scenario technology enables testing of alternative actions 

  • Efficient and cost-effective process flow, e.g. using existing CAD plans 

  • Future-proof, e.g. through compliance to BIM standard (Building Information Modelling) 


Example of the Viennese Donauinselfest with more than three million visitors: SIMULATE evaluates evacuation times and bottlenecks.

How it works:

Infograph Simulation

 

 

SIMULATE – when pedestrian flows have to be managed efficiently and safely

The potential applications of SIMULATE are as varied as urban challenges themselves. These include safety-related issues like the evacuation of large buildings or large events, business management tasks such as optimising customer flows in shopping malls, or new approaches in the design of buses, trains, and bus/tram stops.

[Translate to English:] Konzert

Hands-on simulation and analysis at the cutting edge of research and technology

Visitor, passenger, and customer flows in virtual environments are simulated using software tools developed at the AIT and decades worth of research. Structural adjustments such as changes to passages, or organisational measures like diversions can be demonstrated and analysed in 2D/3D animations. Measurement data from the actual infrastructure can also be included.

Optimising, increasing efficiency, minimising risks and potential dangers

Various optimisation goals can be achieved depending on the task set – this also includes mapping of highly specialised cases, such as the movements of patients in hospitals. Another example is the ideal use of limited space in airports under consideration of security, comfort and commercial aspects.

SIMULATE is a scientifically validated AIT method

The methods we use in SIMULATE are scientifically recognised and the result of years of research in crowd dynamics. Comprehensive data from a large number of real person flow analyses is a key component of the models and methods used.

Flow simulations improve your decision basis

SIMULATE simulates pedestrian flows, displays flow rates and shows main routes and potential bottlenecks. Scenarios for structural and organisational measures can be analysed in movement models as well as in virtual environments. The results can then be presented using 2D and 3D animations as well as a number of evaluation methods.

Partners & Customers

Siemens
MIT Senseable City Lab
Wiener LinienMIT Media Lab
ÖBBFraunhofer Austria
Asian Development Bank (ADB)TU Delft
Vienna International AirportTU Graz
Munich AirportTU Wien
BombardierJoanneum Research
Signon ÖsterreichVasko & Partner
Cegelec GmbHNova Rock
Schloß Schönbrunn Kultur- und Betriebsges.m.b.H.Seefestspiele Mörbisch
Technisches MuseumDonauinselfest - Pro Event Team für Wien GmbH
Stadt WienCarlo Ratti Associati

 

Research Field

Contact Request

Direkt zum Inhalt

Simulate

Simulation, Analyse und Optimierung von Kunden- und Besucherströmen

Mehr Sicherheit, Komfort, Effizienz für Personenströme

Das Optimieren und Analysieren von Personenflüssen in urbanen Räumen stellt eine große Herausforderung dar. Auf Basis aktuellster Forschungsergebnisse und State-of-the-Art-Technologien bietet das AIT maßgeschneiderte, skalierbare Lösungen für die Simulation, Analyse und Planung.

SIMULATE: Ihre Vorteile

  • Kostenersparnis durch Sicherstellung von optimaler Mobilität, Effizienz, Komfort und Sicherheit 

  • Bestmöglich abgesicherte Entscheidungen, Vermeidung von Fehlinvestitionen für bestehende und in Planung befindliche Anlagen 

  • Flexible Szenariotechnik ermöglicht das Testen von Handlungsalternativen 

  • Effizienter, kostengünstiger Ablauf,
 z. B. durch Nutzung bestehender CAD-Pläne 

  • Zukunftssicher, z. B. durch Kompatibilität mit BIM-Standard (Building Information Modelling) 


Beispiel Donauinselfest mit mehr als
 drei Millionen BesucherInnen: SIMULATE überprüft Evakuierungszeiten und Engpässe.

Wer steigt an welcher Stelle ein, wer aus? SIMULATE untersucht beispielsweise den Fahrgastwechsel bei Straßenbahnen und Zügen.

How it works:

 

 

Simulate ist dort, wo Personenflüsse effizient und sicher zu leiten sind

Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von SIMULATE sind so vielfältig wie die urbanen Aufgabenstellungen an sich. Dabei handelt es sich um sicherheitsrelevante Fragen wie z. B. die Evakuierung von Großgebäuden oder Großveranstaltungen, betriebswirtschaftliche Aufgabenstellungen wie die Optimierung von KundInnenströmen in Shopping-Centern oder neue Ansätze für die Gestaltung von Bussen, Zügen und Haltestellen.

Konzert

Praxisnahe Simulation und Analyse am Puls der Forschung und Technologie

Mittels am AIT entwickelter Softwaretools und jahrzehntelanger Forschungsarbeit werden BesucherInnen-, PassagierInnen- und KundInnenströme in virtuellen Umgebungen simuliert. Bauliche Maßnahmen wie eine Veränderung von Durchlässen oder organisatorische Maßnahmen wie Umleitungen können in 2D- und 3D-Animationen demonstriert und analysiert werden. Dabei können auch Messdaten der realen Infrastruktur einfließen.

Optimieren, Effizienz steigern, Risiken und Gefährdungspotenziale minimieren

Entsprechend der Aufgabenstellung werden verschiedene Optimierungsziele erreicht. Dabei sind auch sehr spezielle Fälle, wie etwa die Bewegungen von PatientInnen in Spitälern, abbildbar. Ein weiteres Beispiel ist die optimale Nutzung von knappen Flächen in Flughäfen unter sicherheitsrelevanten, komfortbezogenen und kommerziellen Gesichtspunkten.

Simulate ist ein wissenschaftlich validiertes Verfahren des AIT

Die Methoden, die wir im Rahmen von SIMULATE einsetzen, sind wissenschaftlich anerkannt und das Ergebnis unserer jahrelangen Forschung im Bereich Crowd Dynamics. Eine weitere wichtige Komponente der Modelle und Methoden sind umfassende Daten aus einer Vielzahl realer Personenflussanalysen.

Simulate verbessert Ihre Entscheidungsbasis

SIMULATE simuliert BesucherInnenströme, weist Durchflussraten aus und zeigt Hauptrouten und mögliche Engstellen. Szenarien zu baulichen und organisatorischen Maßnahmen können in Bewegungsmodellen, aber auch in virtuellen Umgebungen analysiert werden. Die Präsentation der Ergebnisse erfolgt schließlich anhand von 2D- und 3D-Animationen sowie mehreren Auswertungsverfahren.

Kontaktanfrage