Experience

Optimisation of infrastructure and wayfinding system design using virtual reality test environments

EXPERIENCE: better orientation through virtual experience

EXPERIENCE is an innovative AIT process for optimising the design of infrastructures, transport modes and wayfinding systems by analysing architectural models and designs in virtual, immersive test environments.

 

EXPERIENCE your benefits

  • Optimisation of infrastructure and wayfinding systems in existing or planned buildings 

  • Confident decision making thanks to virtual reality test environments 

  • Avoid additional investments for subsequent changes 

  • Higher safety, efficiency, and comfort 

  • Higher customer satisfaction in your buildings 
and urban spaces 


EXPERIENCE – applied

  • Any large building, from campus to office tower and stadium 

  • Public transport, train stations, airports 

  • Shopping and entertainment centers 


How it works:

 

 

Creating a realistic, populated virtual test environment

Using state-of-the-art technologies, a virtual 3D model of the building or urban space is created in a cost-efficient manner. Natural movements, ambient noise and pedestrian flows are included in the simulation as well as wayfinding system components such as signs, screens or PA announcements.

Test subjects go through different and individual scenarios

The test subjects move around inside the virtual test environment and are given tasks to perform within it. How they perceive the environment during the test and how the elements of the wayfinding system influence their orientation and their actions is captured by eye tracking, recording their movements and reactions as well as their individual behavioural patterns.

Train Station Terminal informations board

Insights for optimisation and higher customer satisfaction

What paths do the test subjects take within the scope of their set objectives? Which disruptive factors are present in the architecture and the wayfinding system? Which signs and objects attract visual attention? Through analysis of virtual experiences we derive valuable insights for the improvement and optimisation of infrastructure design.

Experience simulates real life with innovative technologies

Based on the SIMULATE software developed at the AIT, EXPERIENCE uses visual computing technologies and the latest pedestrian simulations to create a virtual environment very close to the real world. This is a result of intensive AIT research in crowd dynamics and based on a large amount of real-world measurement data.

Ideal support for plans and wayfinding systems

Based on the insights and analyses of individual test subject behaviour, EXPERIENCE provides decision and planning assets for the realisation of user-oriented infrastructure. Deficiencies in architecture and wayfinding systems can be quickly identified by EXPERIENCE, allowing the optimisation of pedestrian flows, safety, efficiency, and comfort.

Contact Request

Experience

Designoptimierung von Infrastruktur und Leitsystemen mittels Virtual-Reality-Testumgebung

EXPERIENCE: bessere Orientierung durch virtuelle Erfahrung

EXPERIENCE ist ein neuartiges Verfahren des AIT zur Optimierung des Designs von Infrastrukturen, Verkehrsmitteln und Leitsystemen. In virtuellen, realitätsnahen Testumgebungen analysiert EXPERIENCE architektonische Modelle und Designentwürfe.

 

EXPERIENCE: Ihre Vorteile

  • Optimierung von Infrastruktur und Leitsystemen in bestehenden oder geplanten Objekten 

  • Entscheidungssicherheit durch Virtual-Reality-Testumgebungen 

  • Vermeidung von Investitionen für nachträgliche Änderungen 

  • Erhöhung von Sicherheit, Effizienz und Komfort 

  • Höhere KundInnenzufriedenheit in Ihren Gebäuden 
und urbanen Räumen 


EXPERIENCE angewandt

  • Alle Großgebäude vom Campus über den Büro-Tower bis zum Stadion 

  • Öffentliche Verkehrsmittel, Bahnhöfe, Flughäfen 

  • Shopping- und Entertainment-Center

How it works:

 

 

Schaffen einer realitätsnahen, belebten virtuellen Testumgebung

Ein virtuelles 3D-Modell des Gebäudes oder urbanen Raums wird mittels modernster Technologien kosteneffzient geschaffen. Natürliche Bewegungen, Umgebungsgeräusche und PassantInnenströme werden in die Simulation ebenso integriert wie Elemente eines Leitsystems, zum Beispiel Hinweisschilder, Monitore oder Lautsprecherdurchsagen.

Testpersonen durchlaufen unterschiedliche individuelle Szenarien

Die Testpersonen bewegen sich innerhalb der virtuellen Testumgebung und erhalten Aufgaben. Wie sie bei der Bewältigung das Umfeld wahrnehmen, wie die Elemente des Leitsystems ihre Orientierung und ihr Handeln beeinflussen, wird durch Aufzeichnung ihrer Blickpunkte und -richtungen, Bewegungen und Reaktionen sowie ihrer individuellen Verhaltensmuster erfasst.

Train Station Terminal informations board

Erkenntnisse für die Optimierung und höhere Kundenzufriedenheit

Welche Wege haben die Testpersonen im Rahmen ihrer Zielvorgaben eingeschlagen? Welche Störfaktoren sind in der Architektur und im Leitsystem vorhanden? Welche Zeichen und Objekte ziehen die visuelle Aufmerksamkeit auf sich? Aus der Analyse der virtuellen Erfahrungen leiten wir wertvolle Erkenntnisse für die Verbesserung und Optimierung des Infrastrukturdesigns ab.

Experience simuliert mit innovativen Technologien Real Life

Auf Basis der am AIT entwickelten SIMULATE-Software schafft EXPERIENCE mittels Visual-Computing-Technologien und neuester FußgängerInnen-Simulationen eine virtuelle Welt, die der realen äußerst nahe kommt. Die Grundlage liefern die Erkenntnisse intensiver AIT-Forschung im Bereich Crowd Dynamics und eine solide Basis an realen Messdaten.

Die ideale Unterstützung für Pläne und Leitsysteme

Dank der Erkenntnisse und Analysen des individuellen Verhaltens der Testpersonen liefert EXPERIENCE Entscheidungs- und Planungsunterlagen für die Realisierung NutzerInnen-orientierter Infrastruktur. Mängel in Architektur und Leitsystemen können durch EXPERIENCE rasch identifiziert, Personenströme, Sicherheit, Effizienz und Komfort optimiert werden.

Kontaktanfrage