Five specialised departments researching the key infrastructure issues of the future

The AIT Austrian Institute of Technology comprises five departments. Each department focuses on very specific areas of infrastructure and technology.

Get to know the five departments: Energy, Mobility, Health & Environment, Digital Safety & Security and Innovation Systems. Learn more about the specifics of each departments' research areas.

The AIT has about 1.260 employees - mostly based at the main facilities Vienna Tech Gate, Vienna TECHbase, Seibersdorf, Wiener Neustadt, Ranshofen and Graz – working on the development of the tools, technologies and solutions for Austrian industries that are of utmost relevance for the future. All these efforts comply with our motto "Tomorrow Today".

The departments are focused on highly specialised research areas. The AIT is thus very specifically positioned within the international research community, signaling its intention to play a leading role in matters of research and technologies.